Attacking the Paper Monster

How many of you are drowning in paper with no hope of survival?  That’s me, over here!!  Two people who love reading, have way too little time at home, and who are small pack rats equals a whole pile of paper everywhere!!  Magazines, newspapers, recipes, advertisements, catalogs, bills, coupons, important notices, junk…you name it, we have it piled somewhere.  I’m very good at straightening the piles.  I’m also very good at hiding the piles.  Not so good at putting said piles away so that they no longer exist.  They usually just exist in some form in another room where you can’t see them at the moment.

So today I took an “Organzing your Paper Clutter” class through the local community recreation place.  This very knowledgeable and well-meaning woman attempting in one hour to teach us what she normally charges people hundreds of dollars to do.  Purge your paper, create a Command Center, be ruthless in what you throw away.  All well meaning and good.  But trust me, I’ve tried it.  We had a command center…which quickly became so full of paper that the files fell apart.  And then, since the command center now looked like a hot mess, it got hidden in the junk room…with the papers still inside…so then we suddenly couldn’t find things we needed.  Needless to say, the command center was not a solution for us.

I don’t think it’s that I don’t know how to organize…it’s that I don’t want to put the effort into doing it.  It requires work.  It requires my butt to leave the couch.  Two things that, if given a choice, I don’t really want to do. 

Where’s that cleaning lady???

Leave a Reply

